Luxembourg – 3rd home, Short and Sweet!

So, after 7 years living in South East Asia I spent 6 months living and working in Luxembourg. “Luxembourg”, I hear you say… yes that small land locked country nestled sweetly between France, Germany and Belgium.  Living here was a very different experience after Singapore, but I made the most of it, hence ‘short and sweet’!

I found myself a small 1 bedroom flat in the heart of the city, ‘the ghetto’ I called it, since it was not too far away from the entertainment (red light even) district of the country! Still, it suited my needs in terms of getting to work, to the shops and to the bars!

The fact that the place was  a ghost town on a Sunday took some getting used to, what with shops mostly closed and only cafes and restaurants open.  I kinda liked it after a while though, as it gave me time to rest and reflect before yet another busy week ahead.

Coming from a country where alcohol cost a fortune to one where it was the total opposite I can safely say I put my Sodexo Luncheon vouchers to good use, as I sampled my way through the Rose wine shelves in the local supermarket (can’t say it helped my waist line though!)  A few pairs of winter boots were added to the collection too, any excuse!)

I am thankful to the amazing friends I made in such a short time, without them I think the doom and gloom of the winter months may well have turned me into a hedgehog!

Living not far from the city centre, meant I was able to explore the Grund and stroll around the many quaint streets and boutiques.  The view from the top over looking the valley in the autumn was breath taking.  Something I missed living in the tropics was the true colours of the fall.  Soon after followed winter, the perfect opportunity to be mesmerised by the Christmas Markets, outdoor ice skating rink and seaming cups of Gluvine!

Not far form the famous Grand Dukes Palace was my favourite hot chocolate shop The Chocolate House a perfect place to enjoy amazing hot chocolate and people watch!  A few good nights out were spent in the city too, but my favourite hangout was the Friday night free sushi and Cremant (local bubbles) at Ikki in Clausen. You won’t go wrong finding a gastronomy of places to dine with drinks at the Sofitel bar in the city making the perfect nightcap for cocktails!

The 6 months I spent living here certainly allowed me to explore the surrounding countries and more.  It was weird being able to literally stumble over the border into neighbouring countries (all much cheaper of course!)  The lush countryside and vineyards in the region made a refreshing change from the skyscraper skyline I had been used to.

Public transportation is incredibly cheap and well connected in Luxembourg and you can’t go wrong as a tourist.  I couldn’t really speak French, German or Luxembourgish, but managed perfectly with just English and a smile when going about daily life.

You can of course check out this link to the official guide of what to see and do when in Luxembourg.

Thank you to great friends that helped me out, made me laugh, drank with me, lent furniture, gave me lifts and so much more…..!  I couldn’t have done it without you.  Much love to you all, you know who you are xoxox

#TravellingNessy#

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Luxembourg – 3rd home, Short and Sweet!

Leave a comment